Pune Media
Leading the news curation and publishing for the world

Two scientists win 2022 Albany Medical Center Prize for gene research

ALBANY — Two scientists will share the 21st Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research for their discoveries in gene regulation, according to a hospital news release.

C. David Allis, Ph.D., professor and head of the Laboratory of Chromatin Biology and Epigenetics at The Rockefeller University in New York City, and Michael Grunstein, Ph.D., a distinguished professor of chemistry at David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA, will be recognized Thursday for their contributions in a ceremony at the Hilton Garden Inn at Albany Medical Center. 

The Albany Prize organizers say it is one of the largest awards in medicine and science in the U.S. Nobel Prize winners have been among the past researchers honored. Albany Med did not announce the amount of this year’s prize yet. In 2019, two investigators shared $500,000.

Of this year’s honorees, their “pioneering work helped define the relationship between chromosomal histone modifications and gene expression and linked these basic science discoveries to human biology and diseases such as cancer, congenital diseases, and neurological disorders,” hospital officials said in the release.

Dr. Vincent P. Verdile, dean emeritus at Albany Medical College and chair of the Albany Prize National Selection Committee, will present the award.

A question-and-answer period will follow the award presentation.

The Albany Medical Center Prize has been given annually since 2001, apart from 2020 when the coronavirus pandemic began, to those who have altered the course of medical research.

It was established by the late Morris “Marty” Silverman, a New York City businessman who grew up in Troy. The award is “to honor scientists whose work has translated from ‘the bench to the bedside,’ resulting in better outcomes for patients, and to draw positive attention to Albany Medical Center and the Capital Region,” Albany Med says on the Prize website.

The Marty and Dorothy Silverman Foundation dedicated $50 million in 2000 to sustain the annual award for 100 years.

Images are for reference only.Images and contents gathered automatic from google or 3rd party sources.All rights on the images and contents are with their legal original owners.

Aggregated From –

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Typically replies within few minutes on a chat or a day via email
Hey There! I am here to help you :)
Hello there

If you subscribe us, You will live 10 more years, because we get you only good news! 

If you subscribe us, You will live 10 more years, because we get you only good news!